Truly free self storage software is rare. In the vendors we reviewed, none lists a free plan; most offer a free trial or a demo. The lowest published monthly prices start around $30 to $45, and what matters is the total cost once fees are added.
We make Stitch Storage, so read our notes with that in mind. Every competitor price below comes from the vendor's own site, as of October 2026. Prices that appear only on third-party review sites are not stated here.
What "free" usually means
- A spreadsheet. Free, and fine for 15 units. It has no online rentals, no autopay and no late fee automation. You do the billing by hand.
- A free trial. Real software, for a limited time. Stitch gives 30 days with no card. Check whether a card is needed to start.
- A free feature inside paid software, such as a free website. Stitch includes a facility website with every plan.
Free software that is supported by ads or that sells your tenants' data is a risk. Ask how a vendor makes money before you load tenant records.
Cheap, with published prices
| Tool | Published price (October 2026) | What can add to it | Contract terms published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unit Trac | $0.70 per unit per month, $30 minimum | Payment processing; ask for details | Not disclosed on homepage |
| Stitch Storage | Starter $39 (up to 50 units), Pro $99 (unlimited), extra facility $59 | 0.3% platform fee on rent processed, plus card or ACH processing | No contracts |
| WebSelfStorage | $44.95 a month ($34.95 for U-Haul dealers) | Payment processing; confirm with vendor | Not stated on homepage |
| QuikStor | $1 per unit per month, capped at $295 per facility | $999 one-time implementation; website $25 a month per facility | Month-to-month, 30 days notice |
| Storeganise | Baseline example $90 a month, quote by size | Migration packages, extra support hours | Not published; setup free |
Tools that do not publish a price: SiteLink and Storable Edge quote after a demo, 6Storage says "flat rate per unit" with no number shown, and Storage Commander and Yardi Breeze are quote based. Third-party review sites list figures for some, but those are not confirmed by the vendors, so ask for a written quote.
Worked example
Say you have 80 units at an average rent of $85, and 64 are occupied. Monthly rent is 64 x $85 = $5,440.
- Unit Trac: 80 x $0.70 = $56 a month.
- Stitch Pro: $99 a month, plus 0.3% of rent processed online. If all $5,440 is processed through Stitch, that is $16.32.
- QuikStor: 80 x $1 = $80 a month, plus $999 once. In year one that is $1,959 before payment fees.
- WebSelfStorage: $44.95 a month.
The cheapest headline is not always the cheapest year, and processing fees apply to all of them. Compare year-one totals.
The catches to check
Use this list on every quote.
- Setup or implementation fee. One time or recurring?
- Payment processing rate. A 0.5% difference on $5,440 of monthly rent is about $27 a month.
- Website fee. Included, or extra?
- Text messages. Per message charges add up.
- Contract length. Month-to-month, annual, auto-renewing?
- Price increases. Are they capped? Stitch offers a price lock: your plan price does not go up while you are a customer.
- Add-on modules. Which things you will use daily are extra?
- Exit. Can you export your data anytime?
One-time purchase software
Some owners prefer to buy a license once. Tredds lists Standard and Pro one-time prices on third-party review sites, but we could not verify them on the vendor's own site, so we do not state them. If you consider a one-time license, ask who handles backups, updates, payment processing and what happens to your data if your computer fails.
Our pick for your budget
- Under 50 units and tight on cash: compare Unit Trac and Stitch Starter. One is per unit, the other is flat.
- 50 to 300 units: flat pricing is simpler to predict. Compare Stitch Pro against per-unit tools at your count.
- U-Haul affiliate: price WebSelfStorage.
More comparisons: best self storage software, small facility options, and SiteLink pricing. See Stitch pricing and free migration.